Home > Liberty Nickel (1883-1913)

Liberty Nickel Coins (1883-1913) Auctions

The Liberty Head nickel (5-cent piece) or also known as the V nickel due to its reverse design, was officially minted from 1883 to 1912. A few patterns were struck in 1881 and 1882, and five pieces were surreptitiously struck in 1913, which today number among America’s most fabled numismatic rarities. The composition of Liberty Head nickel or V nickel is 75 percent copper and 25 percent nickel (the same […]